Hues, Cries Over Appointment Of 13 Cross Riverians Into Federal Boards, Stakeholders Describe List As Recycling Of Ayade's Men

Jun 15, 2024 - 09:22
Jun 15, 2024 - 10:58
 0  192
Hues, Cries Over Appointment Of 13 Cross Riverians Into Federal Boards, Stakeholders Describe List As Recycling Of Ayade's Men

By Ndifereke BASSEY 

Stakeholders have raised the alarm over the appointment of Thirteen Cross Riverians into the Governing boards of Federal Universities, Polytechnics and College of Education, describing the list as people by former Governor Ben Ayade's men.

From the list released, Cross Riverians have 3 chairmen of Boards with 10 as members.

The stakeholder said, though the new list is an improvement on the last released one which had about six Cross Riverians with none as board chairman, but is a recycling of politicians who have dominated the political scene since 1999.

Those who made the list and served in Ayade's government include Barr. Tina Agbor, Secretary to State Government, Hon. Goddy Eta, former Commissioner for Water Resources, Prof. John Inyang, former Commissioner for Lands, Ayade's in-law, Hon. Martin Orim, former chief of Staff and Hon. Tony Udiandey, described in political circle as Ayade's man Friday.

The list in full include:

(1). Sen. Ndoma Agba Chairman Federal University, Lokoga, Kogi State

(2). Sen. Florence Ita Giwa Chair Federal Polytechnic, Ugep, Cross River State. 

(3). Cletus Obuh Chairman Federal College of Education, Iditep, Akwa Ibom State. 

(4). Hon. Jude Ngaji Member Moddibo Adama University, Yola, Adamawa State. 

(5). Bassey Anamtequa Member King David Umahi University of Medical Science, Uburu, Ebonyi State. 

(6). Ferdinand Adie Member Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun, Delta State.

(7). Barr. Tina Agbor Member Federal Polytechnic Ado-Ekiti, Ekiti State. 

(8). Hon. Tony Udiandeye Member Federal Polytechnic, Ugep, Cross River State. 

(9). Navy Captain, Charles Iyam Ogwa (Retd) Member Federal College of Education, Obudu, Cross River State. 

(10). Hon. Martin Orim Member Federal College of Education, Bichi, Kano State. 

(11). Prof. John Inyang Member Federal College of Education, Okene, Kogi State. 

(12). Mrs Mary Eta Member Federal College of Education, Omoku, River State. 

(13). Hon. Goddy Eta Member National Open University of Nigeria.

From the list, all the last six names including Bishop Victor Ebong, a close ally of Minister of Sports were dropped, fuelling speculation of power play ahead of 2027 elections.

However, an APC stalwart from the Central, Justin Abang, from Boki, who spoke to THE BEAGLE NEWS on phone, said: "The inclusion of Barr. Tina Agbor as member is unacceptable to the Boki nation. Her eight years as SSG under Ayade did not bring any dividends of democracy to the people. So, recycling her is an injustice to the people.

"Besides, what is the rationale behind appointing Dr. Goddy Eta and Prof. John Inyang, both from Ugep in Yakurr local government area into boards and leaving other people out? 

A stakeholder from the Northern senatorial district, who simply gave his nams as Emmanuel Agba, wondered why the like of Orim and Chief Tony should be appointed into boards after they had just finished eight years with Ayade.

According to Agba, whosoever submitted their names has done deservice to the north as they cannot win election for APC in the north.

He said:"Why should Orim and Chief Tony Udiandey be appointed again after serving Ayade for eight years? Does it mean they are no their APC members in the north to be appointed? Why recycle these men when Governor Otu promised to give youths and others a chance? We are saddened by this appointment.

Expressing disappointment at the list, Mr. Austin Ibok, a PDP stalwart, said: "While we appreciate the experience and contributions of longstanding members like Sen. Florence Ita Giwa and Sen. Ndoma Egba, it is disheartening to see the same individuals being put forward for these crucial positions. 

"The continuous recycling of these figures undermines the potential of our highly qualified young people, who form the majority in our state and possess the innovative ideas and energy needed to drive our educational institutions forward.

"It is imperative to recognise that empowering the younger generation with opportunities to serve in such capacities is essential for the sustainable development and progress of our educational system. By doing so, we can foster a more dynamic, inclusive, and forward-thinking governance structure.

"I urge Governor Bassey Otu to consider a more balanced approach in future nominations, one that reflects the diverse talent and potential within Cross River State.

"Allowing young, qualified individuals to step into these roles will not only inspire confidence in our youth but also ensure the continued growth and evolution of our institutions."